GORGO 1961

IS IT A CRIME TO LIKE GORGO MORE THAN GODZILLA?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gorgo is an attempt to make a Japanese-style “giant reptile” flick in an English setting. The story begins when underwater volcanic activity in the Irish Sea brings forth a 65-foot monster called Gorgo. Enterprising Joe (Bill Travers) and Sam (William Sylvester) capture the beast and transport it to London, where Gorgo is put on display as a seaside carnival attraction. This proves to be a major mistake when Gorgo’s even larger mother lumbers to the surface in search of her cute li’l baby. In short order, London is trampled and trashed. (ROTTEN TOMATOES.)

 

 

7 thoughts on “GORGO 1961

  1. ẄWẄ says:

    I remember this post… 🙂

  2. Monsieur Grognon says:

    No, but it might be a crime to like GORGO more than GROGNON.

    Here’s one especially for you and your post.

  3. Monsieur Grognon says:

    Monkey Man

    I’m a fleabit peanut monkey
    All my friends are junkies
    That’s not really true

    I’m a cold Italian pizza
    I could use a lemon squeezer
    What you do?

    But I’ve been bit and I’ve been tossed around
    By every she-rat in this town
    Have you, babe?

    Well, I am just a monkey man
    I’m glad you are a monkey woman too

    I was bitten by a boar
    I was gouged and I was gored
    But I pulled on through

    Yes, I’m a sack of broken eggs
    I always have an unmade bed
    Don’t you?

    Well, I hope were not too messianic
    Or a trifle too satanic
    We love to play the blues

    Well I am just a monkey man
    I’m glad you are a monkey, monkey woman too, babe

    I’m a monkey
    I’m a monkey
    I’m a monkey man
    I’m a monkey man
    I’m a monkey…

  4. Jack Dandy says:

    He certainly is proving himself to be some sort of missing link.

Leave a Reply

